Skip to main content

Hinson Introduces RIFLE Act

May 12, 2021

Washington, D.C. - Congresswoman Ashley Hinson (IA-01) today introduced the Repealing Illegal Freedom and Liberty Excises (RIFLE) Act. Under current law, there is a $200 tax on the transfer and purchase of firearms regulated under the National Firearms Act. This legislation would remove the existing $200 tax on firearms sold to law-abiding gun owners. 

"The federal government should not be placing financial barriers on the inalienable rights of Americans. This unconstitutional tax on certain firearm purchases is a direct violation of the Second Amendment and must be repealed. As the Biden Administration and Democrats push proposals that unfairly target law-abiding gun owners, I will continue to stand up for Iowans' right to keep and bear arms."  -Congresswoman Ashley Hinson

Congresswoman Hinson introduced this bill alongside 60 original co-sponsors: Representative Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Jody Hice (GA-10), Yvette Herrell (NM-02), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02), Lauren Boebert (CO-03), Matt Rosendale (MT-AL), Greg Steube (FL-17), Burgess Owens (UT-04), Mo Brooks (AL-05), Scott Perry (PA-10), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Mike Gallagher (WI-08), Alex X. Mooney (WV-02), Fred Keller (PA-12), Ted Budd (NC-13), Jason Smith (MO-08), Lance Gooden (TX-05), Steve Womack (AR-03), Randy K. Weber (TX-14), Rick Crawford (AR-01), Ann Wagner (MO-02), Richard Hudson (NC-08), Michelle Fischbach (MN-07), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Randy Feenstra (IA-04), Claudia Tenney (NY-22), Clay Higgins (LA-03), Warren Davidson (OH-08), Brian Babin, D.D.S (TX-36), Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Thomas Massie (KY-04), Bill Johnson (OH-06), Scott DesJarlais, M.D. (TN-04), Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. (AZ-04), Roger Williams (TX-25), Mike Simpson (ID-02), Tom McClintock (CA-04), Pete Sessions (TX-17), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Mark Amodei (NV-02), Don Young (AK-AL), Jim Jordan (OH-04), Lee Zeldin (NY-01), Buddy Carter (GA-01), Peter Meijer (MI-03), Tracey Mann (KS-01), Lisa McClain (MI-10), Dan Bishop (NC-09), Michael Cloud (TX-27), Tom Rice (SC-07), Dan Newhouse (WA-04), Mike Kelly (PA-16), Barry Moore (Al-02), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14), August Pfluger (TX-11), Jodey Arrington (TX-19), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Madison Cawthorn (NC-11), Daniel Webster (FL-11).


  • Under current law, there is a $200 tax on the transfer and purchase of firearms regulated under the National Firearms Act.
    • According to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), the $200 transfer tax was intended to “to curtail, if not prohibit, transactions” of firearms.
    • The federal government intentionally placed a financial barrier on the Second Amendment, discriminating against individuals based on their level of expendable income.
  • The RIFLE Act would remove the infringing tax on firearms governed under the National Firearms Act, including short-barreled rifles and silencers.
  • This legislation would also ensure that pistols with stabilizing braces would not be subject to the $200 transfer tax.
  • This legislation does not modify any current background check provisions, it solely removes the federally-mandated financial burden on law-abiding gun owners.